Where to vote today

Today is Election Day, and along with voting for the next U.S. president and veep, community residents will also have the opportunity to vote for their rep in Congress, the State Senate and the Assembly, as well as Manhattan’s Surrogate’s Court.

For residents in the Stuyvesant Town/Waterside/Gramercy area, the choices are, for Congress, the longtime incumbent Carolyn Maloney, a Democrat, or Christopher Wight, a Republican.

For State Senate, Democrat Brad Hoylman, who won the primary, is running unchallenged after an opponent stepped down.

For Assembly, Democrat and incumbent Brian Kavanagh is also running unchallenged after beating Juan Pagan in the primary.

Judge Rita Mella, a Democrat living in Stuyvesant Town, won the primary for Manhattan Surrogate, and is also running unchallenged in the general election.

As for where all the Republicans went, party insiders this fall seemed to agree there wasn’t any point in trying to win in this district.

Council Member Dan Garodnick, who is running for city comptroller (in 2013) has said he has inspected all seven Stuyvesant Town/Peter Cooper Village polling places and found that there was no damage to the voting rooms. Additionally, they all have power and will be used today.

However, he noted in an email to residents yesterday, “There is no heat at any of the locations, and it remains to be seen  whether the Board of Elections will take additional steps to warm them up.”

Additionally, due to a lack of power at Waterside Plaza, residents of Waterside  will be voting at the Asser Levy  Recreation Center along with many Peter Cooper residents.  So, the councilman warned, voters should be prepared for longer lines than usual.

ST/PCV poll sites:
360 First Avenue
Asser Levy Recreation Center
525 East 14th Street
3 Stuyvesant Oval
272 First Avenue
10 Stuyvesant Oval
283 Avenue C

Residents displaced by Hurricane Sandy are allowed to vote at any polling place, Borough President Scott Stringer announced yesterday.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.